Sister cities plan for Sooke and Natori

Vancouver Island’s Sooke and Miyagi Prefecture’s Natori will soon become sister cities. According to a January 14 Goldstream News Gazette article, the Sooke council unanimously accepted the agreement between the two areas, with the Mayor of the District of Sooke Maja Tait commenting, “I think just having relations with other municipalities in other parts of the world helps us appreciate and understand one another better.” 

A sister city agreement is usually ceremonial and accompanied by special programs and initiatives; however, this agreement is yet to make any specific commitments. 

Related Content